Prime Time for Hall of Famers



CANTON, Ohio (AP) — Deion, Marshall and Shannon. Three players often referred to by their first names, and soon to be known as Hall of Famers.

Deion Sanders, Marshall Faulk and Shannon Sharpe will be inducted into the Pro Football shrine Saturday night. Sanders and Faulk were slam dunks in their first year of eligibility.

Joining that trio will be Richard Dent, Chris Hanburger, Les Richter and Ed Sabol.

Sanders was one of football’s most versatile and entertaining players, earning the nickname “Prime Time.” Faulk was the league’s MVP in 2000 and the Offensive Player of the Year from 1999-2001. Sharpe retired with 10,060 yards receiving and 62 touchdowns, monstrous numbers for a tight end.