Time change for Timbers at D.C.

Published:

 

Citing general public safety concerns, Major League Soccer has made the following schedule changes because of the potential impact of Hurricane Irene:

D.C. United vs. Portland Timbers (at RFK Stadium). NOW: Tentatively set for Saturday, Aug. 27 at 2 p.m. ET (11 a.m. PDT)

Major League Soccer, in collaboration with D.C. United and Portland Timbers, will continue to monitor the path of Hurricane Irene before making a final determination as to the status of the game between both clubs. A further update on the status of this game will be provided by 9 a.m. PDT on Friday.

A Timbers spoksman said he believed the game will still be live on Root Sports if moved to 11 a.m., but emphasized that a final decision about when to play the game will be made on Friday. The team traveled to Washington D.C. on Thursday morning.

Other matches have already been rescheduled:

New England at Philadelphia — NOW: Wednesday, Sept. 7 at 8 p.m. ET (5 p.m. PDT). WAS: Sunday, Aug. 28 at 7:00 p.m. ET (Galavision)

LA Galaxy at New York — NOW: Tuesday, Oct. 4 at 8 p.m. ET (5 p.m. Pacific) (ESPN2, ESPN Deportes). WAS: Sunday, Aug. 28 at 7:00 p.m. ET (ESPN2, ESPN Deportes)