Henry, Marshall earn AP all-state football honors

Six Clark County players make all-state first teams

By Tim Martinez, Columbian Assistant Sports Editor



Parker Henry, who led Skyview to first appearance in the state championship game, was the lone member of the Storm to earn a spot on the Associated Press Class 4A all-state football team.

Meanwhile, three members of the Camas Papermakers earned their way onto the 3A all-state first team.

Henry was The Columbian’s All-Region player of the year and the 4A Greater St. Helens offensive player of the year after rushing for 2,191 yards and 31 touchdowns during the Storm’s 11-3 season that ended with a loss to Skyline of Sammamish in the state title game.

Skyline quarterback Max Browne was the 4A state player of the year and the player of the year for all classifications.

Joining Henry on the 4A first team was Union linebacker Tanner Nelson, the 4A GSHL defensive player of the year.

Four Skyview players earned all-state honorable mention: receiver Reiley Henderson, offensive lineman Matt Cruz and Dylan Bratlie and defensive back David Garlington.

Marshall, who rushed and received his way to 1,622 yards and 22 touchdowns, was the first-team all-state running back.

Joining Marshall on the first team were defensive lineman Kamari Brown and linebacker John Norcross. Also, Prairie receiver Ansel Cecil also earned a spot on the 3A all-state first team.

Prairie’s Jesse Zalk earned honorable mention as an all-purpose player.

The only other local player to earn an all-state honor was King’s Way Christian defensive lineman Brad Benton, who earned honorable mention at Class 1B

Bellevue’s Tyler Hasty was the 3A player of the year. Other players of the year were Interlake’s Jordan Todd (2A), Connell’s Matt Hadley (1A), Waitsburg-Prescott’s Zach Bartlow (2B) and Josiah Green of Neah Bay (1B).

Don't Do Stupid Stuff Mugs