Prep notebook: Nominees set for NFF scholarships

Awards banquet slated for Jan. 18 at Hudson's Bay



Tickets are on sale for the Clark County Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame Scholar Athlete Awards Banquet.

The 20th-annual banquet will be at 7 p.m. Jan. 18 in the commons at Hudson’s Bay High School. The event recognizes area high school senior football players for their community involvement and academic achievement, and awards six players scholarship money for college.

Washington State University athletic director Bill Moos will be the featured speaker.

Tickets cost $30 and can be purchased by contacting Rich Biggs at 360-828-3712 or

This is the 20th year that the local NFF chapter has handed out scholarships. The program has made available $285,000 through its first 19 years.

Each high school in Southwest Washington can nominate one back and one lineman for scholarship consideration.

Here is the list of nominees:

Tyler Bergeron of Battle Ground, Zachary Marshall and Kyle Goodnow of Camas, Andrew Morgan and Justin Frost of Columbia River, Joseph Cooper and Huston Dillard of Heritage, Beau Sparks and William Schultz-Rathbun of Hockinson, Jai Girod and Josh Ingebretsen of Hudson’s Bay, Tanner Coval of King’s Way Christian, Patrick Mayolo and Austin Heldt of La Center, Josh Stolz and Ryan Johnson of Mountain View, Colin Seitz and Jesse Zalk of Prairie, Sean Powell of Seton Catholic, Parker Henry and Cody Eldridge of Skyview, Casey Smith and Chase LaCombe of Stevenson, Tanner Nelson and Phil Westphal of Union, Adam Shoup and Morgan Kinnear of Woodland, Colton Sullivan of Washougal.

Evergreen and Fort Vancouver did not submit any nominations.

In addition to announcing scholarship winners, the banquet will honor Mountain View’s Adam Mathieson with the Gary Boggs Award as head coach of the year, and Columbia River’s Darryll Antisdel with the John Hadley Award as the assistant coach of the year.

— Paul Danzer

WIAA sees fall attendance rise

For the second consecutive year, the Washington Interscholastic Activities Association has seen a rise in attendance for its fall state championships.

The WIAA ended the fall season with 71,152 total spectators attending the five different sports, an increase of 1,585 from the 2010 fall season. The largest attended sport was football (semifinals and finals) with 40,196 fans, an increase of 671 from the previous year.

Four from state on All-America team

Lakes offensive lineman Zach Banner was the lone Washington athlete to be selected to’s 2011 High School All-America football first-team team.

The team is compiled by Sports Illustrated writers and editors.

Banner, who is being recruited by several high-profile college programs, helped lead Lakes to the Class 3A state quarterfinals, where the Lancers lost to eventual state champion Bellevue.

Three other state players earned honorable mention: Skyline quarterback Max Browne, Lakes all-purpose player Cedric Dozier, and Bellevue all-purpose player Tyler Hasty.