IOC awards TV rights in Germany, Korea, France



DURBAN, South Africa (AP) — South Korea’s SBS television, Germany’s ARD and ZDF networks and French public broadcasting company France Televisions were awarded lucrative Olympic broadcast rights in their countries Monday, two days before the vote on the host city for the 2018 Winter Games.

SBS secured the Korean rights to four games through 2024 — the Winter Olympics of 2018 and 2022 and Summer Games of 2020 and 2024. The host cities of those four games haven’t been selected yet.

The Korean deal is the first in the world that goes through 2024.

France Televisions won the rights to a four-games package including the 2014 Winter Olympics in Sochi, 2016 Olympics in Rio de Janeiro and the 2018 and 2020 Games.

ARD and ZDF acquired the rights in Germany to the 2014 and 2016 Olympics.