WSUV seeks nominees for community awards



Washington State University Vancouver is taking nominations for its annual Community Awards of Distinction.

The awards will be presented to community members or organizations in two categories: Community Partnership, and Equity, Diversity and Inclusion. Any community member may submit a nomination.

The Community Partnership will go to an individual or group whose leadership has made a significant impact. They must have exhibited commitment to community partnerships, prosperity, vitality and overall well-being within Southwest Washington and greater Vancouver-Portland. The latter award goes to a person or an organization whose exceptional achievement has similarly improved equity, diversity and inclusion within WSUV’s region.

Nomination forms are available at (click on Community Award of Distinction).

The deadline is 5 p.m. Aug. 19. For questions, call Lisa Abrahamsson at 360-546-9600.

Award winners will be selected by a committee made up of WSUV staff and faculty and community members. Awards are to be presented Oct. 12.

In 2010, Peggy Hays of the Washington state Division of Children and Family Services took the partnership award, YWCA Clark County earned the equity award.