Xavier AD to be NCAA chair



INDIANAPOLIS (AP) — Xavier University athletics director Mike Bobinski will be the chairman of the NCAA Division I men’s basketball committee for the 2012-13 season.

The NCAA announced Wednesday that Bobinski would succeed Connecticut athletics director Jeff Hathaway as chairman after the upcoming season and tournament.

This will be Bobinski’s fourth year of a five-year term on the committee which sets the brackets for the 68-team field.

Xavier has made the last six NCAA tournaments, twice reaching the regional finals.

Ohio State athletics director Gene Smith was the chairman last season.