Smith, Coach K, Yow honored by Naismith



RALEIGH, N.C. (AP) — Three Hall of Fame coaches who have combined for more than 2,500 victories have been honored on “Basketball Day” in North Carolina.

Longtime North Carolina coach Dean Smith, Duke coach Mike Krzyzewski and late North Carolina State women’s coach Kay Yow were celebrated Wednesday night during a ceremony presented by the state’s sports hall of fame. They were honored for their contributions to the sport by the Naismith International Basketball Foundation.

Krzyzewski enters his 37th season as a head coach with 900 wins — two shy of matching Bob Knight for the most by a Division I men’s coach. Smith retired in 1997 as the record-holder with 879 wins. Yow, who died in 2009 after a two-decade fight with cancer, won 737 games during her career.