Union High senior earns Marshall honor

Samantha Cahill will receive $2,500 scholarship, internship




Samantha Cahill, a Union High School senior, was named Tuesday as the winner of the 2011 General George C. Marshall Youth Leadership Award.

Cahill, who was selected from 24 nominees, will be recognized during a public award ceremony at 4 p.m. March 23 at the Marshall House on Officers Row.

As the award recipient, Cahill will receive a $2,500 college scholarship, a $500 paid summer internship in the Fort Vancouver National Trust office, the chance to meet local elected representatives, and opportunities to participate in Celebrate Freedom events including Flag Day, Independence Day at Fort Vancouver, the Veterans Parade and a biography of Marshall.

“Samantha Cahill has shown a special kind of leadership in her work with the Clark County Youth Commission. She is a collaborator and has genuine faith in others, willingly and graciously sharing responsibility with them,” said Elizabeth Hill, the Clark County Youth Commission Coordinator who nominated Cahill.

The Marshall Youth Award was established in 2000 to honor the legacy of General George C. Marshall and is awarded to a Clark County high school junior or senior who demonstrates leadership, takes a stand for the rights of others, serves as a role model, shows initiative and motivates others to become involved. This award is one of the Celebrate Freedom programs organized by the Fort Vancouver National Trust.

Also nominated were: Ruth Ferguson, Amberlea Hansen and Autumn Larson, Battle Ground High School; Martha Tesema, CAM High School; Lucas Smith, Camas High School; Birgitta Geisler, Columbia River High School; Rachael McKinzie and Noe Merfeld, Evergreen High School; Luisa Cruz, Alicia Dougherty, Kymbreanna Elliott and Yarenni Mendoza, Fort Vancouver High School; Matthew Kirschenbaum, Hockinson High School; Viridiana Manriquez, Clarisa Mondragon and Willow Wooster, Hudson’s Bay High School; John Cummings and Alexis Gregory, Mountain View High School; Sherry Henry, Prairie High School; Alicia Cooper and Madison Stumpf, Skyview High School; Arianna Davis, Union High School; and Patrick McCarthy, Washougal High School.