Columbian staff wins 26 journalism awards



The Columbian’s print and online news operation won 26 awards in a five-state competition organized by the Society of Professional Journalists.

The awards were announced Saturday as part of the Northwest Excellence in Journalism contest.

The competition is held annually by Region 10 of SPJ to honor exceptional journalism in Alaska, Oregon, Washington, Idaho and Montana.

This year’s contest honors work produced or published in 2010. More than 2,500 entries from dozens of media organizations throughout the region were then reviewed and rated by out-of-state judges.

The Columbian competed in the 25,001 to 65,000 circulation category for its print edition, and against entries at all levels in its online site,

Comprehensive Coverage

1st Place: Erin Middlewood, “Coping With Cancer”

2nd Place: Staff, “Bethany Storro Case — Series”

Spot News Reporting

3rd Place: Aaron Corvin, “Peacehealth Wants Its HQ here”

Crime and Justice Reporting

2nd Place: Laura McVicker, “Officially Free: After 17 Years Men Finally Shed Rape Charge”

Government and Politics Reporting

3rd Place: Erik Robinson, “Inspection Spurs Alarm About Dams”

Business Reporting

1st Place: Kathie Durbin, “Washington’s Wind Power Windfall”

3rd Place: Aaron Corvin, “Nautilus Looking for a Comeback”

Business Column

1st Place: Courtney Sherwood

Short Feature Story (up to 1,000 words)

1st Place: Scott Hewitt, “Main Street in America: Happy 234 — and many Happy Returns”

Long Feature Story (more than 1,000 words)

3rd Place: Scott Hewitt, “More Than Survival”

Sports Reporting

3rd Place: Greg Jayne, “Papermakers are Streak-Breakers”

Sports Column

1st Place: Matt Calkins

2nd Place: Greg Jayne

Editorial & Commentary

2nd Place: Greg Jayne

3rd Place: John Laird


1st Place: Bob Sisson

2nd Place: Colleen Keller

3rd Place: Rob Oster

Page Design

3rd Place: Merridee Hanson

Feature Photography

3rd Place: Steven Lane, “Adopt Me”

Portrait Photography

1st Place: Steven Lane, “Henderson Brothers”

2nd Place: Zachary Kaufman, “Boxer Virgil Green”

Sports Photography

2nd Place: Steven Lane, “Game Winner”

Photo Page, Story or Essay

1st Place: Troy Wayrynen, “Coping with Cancer”

Online Special Report/Enterprise

2nd Place: Staff, “The Volcano Next Door”

Online Interactive graphic or resource

2nd Place: Marsha Matta, “Mount St. Helens Victims”