Mandatory boat inspections beginning in Oregon



Motorists hauling boats in Oregon are required to stop at boat inspection stations to have their watercraft checked for aquatic invasive species.

Gov. John Kitzhaber signed legislation in early August approving the measure. Failure to stop could result in a $142 fine.

Inspections will take about 10 minutes if boats are free of invasive species.

If a boat is found contaminated with quagga or zebra mussels, it will be cleaned on site with a pressure washer.

There is no cost or penalty for the boat owner.

Rick Boatner of the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife said Washington boaters must stop at the inspection stations.

Washington boaters do not need an Oregon aquatic invasive species permit if they launching at Oregon ramps but fishing in the Columbia River, he said

When a motor boat passes inspection, a zip-tie will be connected to the trailer as proof the boat has been checked and is clean.

Boaters can remove the zip-tie when they next launch. All boaters will get a a copy of the inspection form. Non-motorized boats can show their inspection form if requested by law enforcement.

Inspection stations will be set up at roadsides and boat ramps around Oregon.

Non-resident need an aquatic invasive species permit, which cost $22, if boating in Oregon state waters.