Power secures pole for Baltimore Grand Prix



BALTIMORE (AP) — Will Power used a late surge to win the pole for Sunday’s Baltimore Grand Prix.

Power ran Saturday’s qualifying session in 1:20.2447 mph. The victory gives him a point in the IndyCar Series standings.

Graham Rahal was second at 1:20.3238. He was followed by Ryan Briscoe, Dario Franchitti, Sebastien Bourdais and Ryan Hunter-Reay.

It was the seventh time this season Power has won the pole. He also started from the No. 1 spot last week in winning the Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma.

Power ranks second in points behind Franchitti. The Australian has captured 23 poles in his career — tying Johnny Rutherford on the all-time list.

After winning Saturday, Power said, “That was definitely a tough one. I knew I had one lap to do it.”