5 nominated for Marshall Leadership Award

By Craig Brown, Columbian Metro Editor



Five Clark County residents have been nominated for the General George C. Marshall Public Leadership Award. They are:

Katherine Benson, Camas, 33, district executive for the Boy Scouts of America.

Kimberly Blake Pincheira, Vancouver, 28, Southwest Washington outreach director for U.S. Sen. Maria Cantwell, D-Wash.

Dawn Johnston, Vancouver, 33, major gifts officer for PeaceHealth Southwest Medical Center.

Jill Sasser, Camas, 31, associate attorney at Landerholm, P.C.

Denice Odette Twyman, Camas, 32, medical assistant.

The 2011 recipient will be presented at a ceremony at 4 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 26 at the Marshall House.

Now in its 23rd year, the Marshall Public Leadership Award, honoring the legacy of Gen. George C. Marshall, is organized by the Fort Vancouver National Trust as one of its many Celebrate Freedom programs.

Marshall commanded Vancouver Barracks’ 5th Infantry Brigade from 1936 to 1938 During World War II, Marshall served as Army chief of staff of the U.S. Army, and was secretary of state in the Truman Administration. He was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for his work on the Marshall Plan, which helped rebuild the economies of Europe and the Pacific nations after the war.