Three members join Columbia Gorge board



White Salmon — The Columbia River Gorge Commission has announced the appointment of three new members. Joining the 13-member group are Janet Wainwright, appointed by Washington Gov. Chris Gregoire, Bowen Blair, appointed by Oregon Gov. John Kitzhaber, and Gorham Blaine, appointed by Oregon’s Hood River County.

Blair attended his first meeting with the commission in June. Blaine and Wainwright will attend their first meetings in September, according to the commission.

Wainwright, with a background in forest biology, is a resident of both Skamania County and the Puget Sound area. She previously led the Washington Environmental Council and the Washington Wildlife and Recreation Coalition.

Blair has worked on Gorge issues for more than 30 years, including the passage of the original National Scenic Area Act in the 1980s, according to the commission.

Blaine operates pear and apple orchards with his wife in Hood River County.

The Gorge commission’s executive director, Darren Nichols, joined the organization full-time in February.