South Koreans dominate at short-track speedskating



SHANGHAI (AP) — South Koreans Kwak Yoon-gy and Park Seung-hi won 1,000-meter races in World Cup short-track speedskating on Saturday.

Kwak won the men’s 1,000 race with a time of 1 minute, 27.028 seconds to finish 0.170 seconds ahead of Liang Wenhao of China. Niels Kerstholt of the Netherlands was third in 1:27.241.

Park won the women’s race with a time of 1:30.454, edging China’s Wang Meng by just 0.13 seconds. World Cup leader Elise Christie of Britain was third in 1:30.582.

Russia’s Victor An won the men’s 1,500 meters with a time of 2:17.736 ahead of South Korean Noh Jin-kyu, who clocked a time of 2:18.043. Canada’s Guillaume Bastille was third in 2:19.592.

The men’s and women’s 500-meter races will be held on Sunday.