Camas uses its depth to swim to 3A district crown

Mountain View relay team breaks meet record

By Tim Martinez, Columbian Assistant Sports Editor



All you need to look at to get an idea of the kind of day the Camas boys swimming team had Saturday is the results of the 100-yard breaststroke.

Papermakers Jake Yraceburu, Kasey Calwell, Ian Ulmer and Joseph Wunderlich swept the top four places in the event, powering Camas to a team championship at the Class 3A district meet in Longview.

Camas used its depth to roll up a 409-248 win over Mountain View.

Yraceburu was one of two individual district champions for Camas, winning the 100 breast in 1 minute, 1.20 seconds.

Nick Kabel was the Papermakers’ other district champion, edging out Mountain View’s Alexander Suk to win the 50 freestyle in 22.62 seconds.

Kabel and Calwell teamed up with Trent Harimoto and John Utas to lead Camas to an easy win in the 200 free relay, winning in 1:32.02.

The Mountain View 200 medley and 400 free relay teams of Kyle Law, Chris Xue, Alexander Suk and Davin Gong swam to district titles. The Thunder’s 200 medley time of 1:40.81 set a district meet record. Camas was not far behind, finishing second in 1:41.00.

Mountain View’s 400 free relay also beat out Camas, winning in 3:20.70.

Sophomore Jaron Hamlik, Prairie’s one-man swim team, posted a pair of impressive victories. Hamlik won the 200 individual medley by more than four seconds, finishing in 1:57.62. He also won the 100 backstroke in 53.68 seconds.

Columbia River’s Nicholas McMillan had the two biggest victories of the day. McMillan won the 200 freestyle in 1:50.84, outdistancing his closest competitor by more than six seconds. He recorded an 11-second win in the 500 free, winning in 5:01.92.

Two other Mountain View swimmers took home district titles. Arash Davani won the 100 butterfly in 53.18 seconds, while Xue won the 100 freestyle in 50.40 seconds.

In the 2A district meet, Hockinson placed second in the team standings to North Thurston. The Rams won with 413 points, followed by Hockinson (220), Aberdeen (214) and Mark Morris (198). No other details from the 2A meet were reported to The Columbian.