Marshall, Johnson win NFF awards

Standouts from Camas, Mtountain View garner scholarships



Editor’s note: Because of inclement weather, Wednesday’s National Football Foundation banquet was postponed, and local officials are considering options for rescheduling the event. Zack Marshall of Camas and Ryan Johnson of Mountain View are, indeed, winners of the organization’s top scholarships, but the story is inaccurate in reporting that they were honored Wednesday night. The Columbian apologizes for the error. — Greg Jayne, Sports editor

Zack Marshall of Camas and Ryan Johnson of Mountain View won the top scholarship awards Wednesday from the Clark County Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame.

They were among six area football players awarded scholarships during the local chapter’s annual banquet at Hudson’s Bay High School. Marshall, a running back and defensive back, won the $3,500 scholarship for backs. Johnson, an offensive and defensive lineman for the Thunder, won the $3,500 honor for linemen.

The second-place winners, each earning $2,500 scholarships, were Union’s Tanner Nelson and Prairie’s Jesse Zalk. Third-place honorees were Skyview’s Parker Henry and Hockinson’s William Schultz-Rathbun. Each receives $1,500 of scholarship money.

In addition to announcing scholarship winners, the banquet honored Mountain View’s Adam Mathieson with the Gary Boggs Award as coach of the year, and Columbia River’s Darryll Antisdel with the John Hadley Award as the assistant coach of the year.

Each high school in Southwest Washington can nominate one back and one lineman for scholarship consideration, and players must have a grade-point average of 3.0 or higher to be eligible.

The awards were determined by a formula that considered each nominee’s academic and football accomplishments, plus his community involvement. This is the 20th year that the local NFF chapter has handed out scholarships, a total that has reached $300,000.