Diggins, Martin lead Big East first team



HARTFORD, Conn. (AP) — Notre Dame guard Skylar Diggins and DePaul guard Anna Martin have been named unanimous selections for this year’s All-Big East team.

The first team also includes Irish players Natalie Novosel and Devereaux Peters; UConn’s Tiffany Hayes and Bria Hartley; Georgetown’s Sugar Rodgers; Louisville’s Shoni Schimmel; Rutgers’ Khadijah Rushdan; St. John’s Shenneika Smith and West Virginia’s Asya Bussie.

Peters also earned her second consecutive Big East defensive player of the year award, and UConn freshman Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis won the sixth man award. South Florida’s Jasmine Wynne is the conference’s most improved player.

The conference’s player, freshman, scholar-athlete and coach of the year will be announced Friday as the Big East tournament begins at the XL Center.