Men’s, women’s lacrosse tourneys open this weekend



DURHAM, N.C. (AP) — The power in college lacrosse long has been concentrated among a few schools. This might be the year that changes.

Neither of the No. 1 seeds in the 16-team men’s and women’s tournaments have won national championships. The tournaments begin this weekend at first-round sites across the country.

Men’s No. 1 seed Loyola of Maryland (15-1) has won just one NCAA tournament game since 2001 and hasn’t reached the Final Four since 1998. Women’s No. 1 Florida (17-2) is in just its third year of existence.

Eight schools have combined to win every title since the NCAA began crowning men’s lacrosse champions in 1971. In the past 20 years, only four schools have won women’s championships.

Syracuse men’s coach John Desko says “parity in Division I lacrosse is here.”