Meola, Reyna, Armstrong inducted into soccer hall



LANDOVER, Md. (AP) — Former U.S. national team goalkeeper Tony Meola, captain Claudio Reyna and defender Desmond Armstrong have been inducted into the U.S. National Soccer Hall of Fame along with former women’s national team coach Tony DiCicco.

The four were honored Wednesday before the United States’ exhibition game against Brazil along with longtime Los Angeles Times soccer writer Grahame L. Jones, who was given the Colin Jose Media Award

Reyna was unable to attend the ceremony because of a family matter. The hall building in Oneonta, N.Y., closed in February 2010.