Two local school boards honored by state



Two Clark County school boards were among 23 statewide recognized as boards of distinction by the Washington State School Directors’ Association at its annual conference Nov. 16.

The board for Vancouver Public Schools was named in the category of districts with more than 9,000 students. Board members are Kathy Gillespie, Dale Rice, Mark Stoker, Edri Geiger and Mari Greves. Superintendent is Steven Webb.

The Camas Public Schools board was named in the category for districts with 1,001 to 9,000 students. Board members are Casey O’Dell, Julie Rotz, Connie Hennessey, Douglas Quinn and Mary Tipton. Mike Nerland is superintendent.

The Boards of Distinction awards honor school boards that demonstrate effective use of the Washington School Board Standards, developed and adopted to promote researched-based governance practices that lead to high student and district achievement.