Battle Ground, Prairie ROTC programs honored nationally



Prairie and Battle Ground high schools’ Air Force Junior ROTC programs have received the 2013 Distinguished Unit Award, a national honor.

The Battle Ground High School program, with 143 cadets, is led by Col. Brian Brown and Chief Master Sgt. Chuck Shannon, and has won the award at least three times.

The Prairie High School program, with 132 cadets, is led by Col. David Reinholz and Master Sgt. Randy Martin, and has won the Distinguished Unit Award eight times.