Clark County freeholder races add 21 more candidates

72 people have filed for 15 spots so far; deadline is Friday




There are now 72 candidates vying for 15 Clark County freeholder positions. Once elected, group members will craft a new county charter.

A total of 21 individuals applied for a spot on the November ballot between Tuesday evening and Wednesday at 5 p.m.

One candidate, Craig Riley, dropped out of running for District 3, Position 2, and entered the race for District 3, Position 1.

The candidates will face off in the Nov. 5 general election. The home-rule charter they create would allow the county to be governed by its own set of rules, as long as those rules don’t conflict with the U.S. or Washington state constitutions, or state laws. The new charter must be approved by voters.

• District 1, Position 1: Vancouver residents Morris Foutch and William (Bill) Ryckman.

• District 1, Position 2: Vancouver residents Doug Ballou and Dan Sockle.

• District 1, Position 3: Vancouver resident Robert (Rob) Lutz.

• District 1, Position 4: Ridgefield resident John Main and Vancouver resident Sharon Ferguson.

• District 1, Position 5: Vancouver residents Troy Maxcy and Wendy Lyn Smith, Brush Prairie resident Dick Deleissegues, Yacolt resident Patrick O’Rourke and Battle Ground resident Ralph Akin.

• District 2, Position 1: Former Camas mayor Nan Henriksen.

• District 2, Position 3: Washougal resident Loa Ma’o.

• District 2, Position 4: Vancouver resident Roger Neilson.

• District 3, Position 1: Vancouver resident Craig Riley.

• District 3, Position 3: Vancouver resident Mike Woodward.

• District 3, Position 4: Vancouver residents Alex Veliko, Winde Bekins Chavez, Frank L’Amie and Don Yingling.

To see a complete list of candidates, visit the Clark County Election Department’s website at

Clark County is divided into three voting districts, and voters will each select five freeholders, depending on which district they live in. Candidates must be registered to vote, have a valid email address and have been residents of Clark County for at least five years.

The filing period for Clark County freeholder candidates ends at 5 p.m. Friday if filing in person at the election office. If filing online, however, candidates have until 4 p.m. Friday. There is no filing fee to run for freeholder.

Freeholder positions are nonpartisan and unpaid.

For more information, visit the election department’s website, call 360-397-2345, email or visit the department at 1408 Franklin St. in Vancouver.

Erik Hidle: 360-735-4547;;