Battle Ground set to honor citizens, firms



Battle Ground — The Battle Ground Chamber of Commerce announced finalists this month for its annual “Recognitions” awards, highlighting community members and businesses that significantly contributed to Battle Ground last year. Winners in six categories will be announced at the chamber’s Feb. 1 “Treasures in the City” banquet. Two of the Citizen of the Year finalists were nominated as pairs. The following are the finalists. Citizen of the Year: Aidan Bissell and Lucas Gubala, Aryana Peiravi, Sandy and Leroy Helyer. Business Person of the Year: Amy Price of Riverview Community Bank, Earl Jackson of Jackson, Jackson and Kurtz, Russell Brent of Mill Creek Pub. Business of the Year: Mill Creek Pub, Morton’s Stoves, Pools and Spas, CPA Wayne Rivers. Service Person of the Year: Mayor Lisa Walters, Police Officer Montie Elford. Teacher of the Year: Claire Verity of Prairie High School, Rachel Karlsen of CAM Academy, Sandy Grim of Battle Ground High School. Coach of the Year: BGHS football coach Chris Higgins, BGHS football coach Larry Peck, PHS cross-country coach Phil Phimister.