Earthquakes finally top Timbers

Second-half goals earn San Jose2-1 home victory



SANTA CLARA, Calif. — Shea Salinas set up two goals and the San Jose Earthquakes beat Portland 2-1 on Saturday for their first Major League Soccer win over the Timbers.

The match was scoreless until 10 minutes into the second half when Victor Bernardez converted a penalty kick.

Three minutes later Steven Lenhart scored off a Salinas cross on a play that started from a free kick.

Darlington Nagbe pulled Portland to within one with an 83rd-minute goal, his sixth of the season. In the 85th minute, San Jose’s Marvin Chavez was sent off, forcing the Earthquakes to finish the match with 10 men. From there, the Timbers had several late chances at the equalizer during a frantic finish but couldn’t produce a second goal.

The penalty kick came after Portland’s Andrew Jean-Baptiste fouled Salinas as he dribbled into the penalty area .

Portland narrowly missed numerous scoring opportunities, including a shot off the crossbar by Frederic Piquionne and multiple attempts that went wide.

Portland (8 wins, three losses and 10 draws) is tied for second place in the Western Conference with Colorado, though the Timbers have played two fewer games than the Rapids.

For San Jose it was a much-needed win. The Quakes are seventh in the West.

Portland finished with 20 attempts on goal to San Jose’s 14, and the Timbers had 58 percent possession.

In seven previous MLS meetings with San Jose, Portland had two wins and five draws.

The Timbers did get some help Saturday, as first-place Real Salt Lake lost to New York 4-3 and fifth-place Vancouver fell 1-0 to Philadelphia.


Portland 0 1–1

San Jose 0 2–2

First half–None.

Second half–1, San Jose, Bernardez 1 (penalty kick), 55th minute. 2, San Jose, Lenhart 2 (Salinas), 58th. 3, Portland, Nagbe 6 (Piquionne, Valeri), 83rd.

Goalies–Portland, Donovan Ricketts; San Jose, Jon Busch.

Yellow Cards–Chavez, San Jose, 85th.

Red Cards–Chavez, San Jose, 85th.

Referee–Drew Fischer. Assistant Referees–Kevin Duliba. Marco Arruda. 4th Official–Daniel Radford.

A–10,525 (10,526)


Portland–Donovan Ricketts, Michael Harrington, Andrew Jean-Baptiste, Rodney Wallace, Pa-Modou Kah, Will Johnson, Jack Jewsbury (Kalif Alhassan, 84th), Diego Valeri, Ben Zemanski (Jose Valencia, 65th), Darlington Nagbe, Ryan Johnson (Frederic Piquionne, 60th).

San Jose–Jon Busch, Jordan Stewart, Justin Morrow, Steven Beitashour, Victor Bernardez, Marvin Chavez, Shea Salinas (Ramiro Corrales, 89th), Sam Cronin, Rafael Baca, Steven Lenhart, Adam Jahn.