24 schools in area earn state achievement awards

They are 413 in Washington to receive the honor

By Susan Parrish, Columbian Education Reporter



Learn more about the Washington Achievement Award

Learn more about the Washington Achievement Award

Twenty-four area schools are 2013 Washington Achievement Award winners.

A total of 413 schools from around the state received the award. The schools will be honored at an April 24 ceremony at Timberline High School in Lacey.

The award is sponsored by the Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction and the State Board of Education. Schools are recognized as top performers in one of six categories: overall excellence, high progress, reading growth, math growth, extended graduation rate and English language acquisition. Award winners are selected using the state’s Accountability Index and the Elementary and Secondary Act Flexibility Waiver.

Award recipient schools from the local area are:

• Battle Ground: Battle Ground High School, CAM Junior Senior High School, Captain Strong Primary School.

• Camas: Camas High School, Grass Valley Elementary, Helen Baller Elementary, Liberty Middle School, Skyridge Middle School.

• Evergreen: Evergreen High School, Mill Plain Elementary School, Union High School.

• Green Mountain: Green Mountain School.

• Hockinson: Hockinson High School.

• Ridgefield: Ridgefield High School, South Ridge Elementary School, View Ridge Middle School.

• Vancouver: Harney Elementary School, Hough Elementary School, Lake Shore Elementary School, Skyview High School, Vancouver School of Arts and Academics.

• Washougal: Cape Horn-Skye Elementary School, Washougal High School.

• Woodland: Woodland Middle School.