53 teachers in ESD 112 earn board certification



Fifty-three teachers in Southwest Washington have achieved National Board Certification this year, part of Washington’s contingent of 516 newly certified teachers that leads the nation.

They include the first Mount Pleasant School District teacher to be certified by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards.

Certification is a one- to three-year process that requires teachers to demonstrate advanced teaching knowledge, skills and practices. This year, 7,333 teachers across the nation achieved the distinction.

The 53 teachers in Educational Service District 112 who earned certification are, by school district:

BATTLE GROUND: Rebecca Broyles, Amboy Middle School; Brian Mathieson, Battle Ground High School; Rachel Karlsen, CAM Junior/Senior High School; Ann Lamberto, Prairie High School; Tad Oman, Prairie High School; and Mindy Truelove, Prairie High School.

CAMAS: Stewart Morgan, Camas High School.

EVERGREEN: Karyn Ainsworth, Burnt Bridge Creek Elementary School; Jaime Rosa, Burnt Bridge Creek Elementary School; Leah Stevens, Covington Middle School; Tracy Worral, Covington Middle School; Cari Pepper, Evergreen High School; Steven Tomlinson, Evergreen High School; Linda Albright-Campbell, Fisher’s Landing Elementary School; Timothy Suenkel, Fisher’s Landing Elementary School; Kimberleigh Anderson, Heritage High School; Kristina Fleming, Heritage High School; Darlyn Wendlandt, Heritage High School; Stephanie Liberman, Image Elementary School; Maria Baker, Pacific Middle School; Zachary Dillon, Pioneer Elementary School; Amy Johnson, Riverview Elementary School; Sheryl Meservey, Union High School; Lewis Norfleet, Union High School; Crystal Wulff, Union High School; and Lea Sneed, York Elementary School.

MOUNT PLEASANT: Kathryn Anholt, Mount Pleasant School.

RIDGEFIELD: Shelli Colwell, View Ridge Middle School, and Danielle Puhl, View Ridge Middle School.

VANCOUVER: Brianna Storts, Chinook Elementary School; Miranda Wakeman, Discovery Middle School; Solina Journey, Fruit Valley Community Learning Center; Robin Turnbull, Fruit Valley Community Learning Center; Bethany Rivard, Fort Vancouver High School; Kristin Beck, Marshall Elementary School; Denise Brinster, Hazel Dell Elementary School; Joshua Dronen, Hudson’s Bay High School; Sheree Gomez, Jason Lee Middle School; Tom Wolverton, iTech Preparatory (former Prairie High teacher); Rebekah Raymond, Peter S. Ogden Elementary; Jay Gowen, Skyview High School; Lindsey Hathaway, Skyview High School; Nathaniel Macon, Skyview High School; and Kelly Backous, Walnut Grove Elementary.

WOODLAND: Kimberly Knudson, Lewis River Academy; Elizabeth Deese, Woodland High School; Michael Lindsay, Woodland High School; Nelean Warndahl, Woodland High School; Kelly Heald, Woodland Intermediate School; Rebecca Blanshan, Woodland Middle School; Kari Debower, Woodland Middle School; Kristina Podelnyk, Woodland Middle School; and Kelly Sloniker, Woodland Middle School.