Benton, Eagle win Football Foundation’s top scholarships

Foundation recognizes senior football players



Brad Benton of King’s Way Christian and Zach Eagle of Camas each received a $3,500 college scholarship on Wednesday during the 22nd-annual Clark County Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame scholarship event.

Benton received the top award for linemen and Eagle for backs during the reception held at Hudson’s Bay High School.

Matt Danis of Camas and Vince Nigro of Woodland received $2,500 scholarships. Connor Wong of Union and Jacob Dennis of Skyview received $1,500 scholarships.

A total of 36 high school senior football players were recognized during the event.

Each school in Clark County, along with Stevenson and White Salmon, were invited to nominate two senior football players for the scholarships (one lineman and one back).

Camas head coach Jon Eagle received the Gary Boggs Award, which honors a coach who consistently demonstrates the ability to motivate high school players to maximize their football talent, as well as to be good teammates and positive student leaders.

Stevenson assistant coach William La Combe, who has served the Bulldogs’ program for 25 years, was given the John Hadley Award. The Hadley Award recognizes an assistant coach who has shown loyalty to a program and been a positive influence on young people.

Mary Hyde was recognized for her contributions to the football community through Clark County Youth Football.

Here are the players who were nominated by their schools:

Hayden Humphrey and Colston Vukanovich of Battle Ground, Mathew Danis and Zach Eagle of Camas, Nathan Jaskierny and James Niemela of Columbia River, Connor Finnegan and Justin Straup of Evergreen, Victor Duran and Antonio Pulido of Heritage, Nick Barclay and Jess Krahn of Hockinson, Bryan Hopster and Aneterea Sipaia of Hudson’s Bay, Jay Becker and Brad Benton of King’s Way Christian, Matt Braaten and Connor Wonderly of La Center, Kade Burns and Austin Mace of Mountain View, Jason Bracken and Scott Keyser of Prairie, Tyler Adams and Garrett Behrman of Ridgefield, Christopher O’Connor of Seton Catholic, Jacob Dennis and Garrett Lawler of Skyview, Brandon Van Pelt and Dennis Wiebe of Stevenson, Joshua Lee and Connor Wong of Union, Bobby Jacobs of Washougal, Nathan Bell and Mathew Bergstrom of Columbia in White Salmon, and Grant Booker and Vincent Nigro of Woodland.

A committee selected the winners of scholarships based on three criteria: football success and contributions to their teams, academics and community involvement.