The Northwest Cultural Resources Institute at Fort Vancouver National Historic Site has received a President's Award for 2013 from the Oregon Archaeological Society. Organizations that provide significant volunteer opportunities for the Oregon Archaeological Society are candidates for the award. The Archaeological Society and the Northwest Cultural Resources Institute work together, providing opportunities for society members to volunteer on a variety of archaeological projects.


Becky Cassler, of Vancouver and a first-year law student at the University of Minnesota, has been awarded a 10-week summer fellowship. She plans to spend the fellowship working at the National Employment Law Project in Seattle. Peggy Browning Fellows are students who have excelled in law school and demonstrated a commitment to worker's rights. Cassler anticipates using her legal training and research skills to promote social justice and advocate for low-income and immigrant workers.


Union High School's music director Tim Siess was named recipient of the 2013-2014 Mary V. Dodge Award. The award is given annually to a music director who inspires students. Siess was nominated by one of his students, Haeun Jung, who performs with the Portland Youth Philharmonic.


The Washington Traffic Safety Commission honored Clark County Public Works for outstanding contributions to traffic safety, specifically for its Traffic Signal Optimization Project.

On campus


These students were named to the winter 2014 dean's list:Battle GroundCara Ball, Kelsie Ball, Mitchell Ball, Jacob Hammon, Jamie Palmer, Amber Peterson, Jordan-Leigh Reed, Connor Reese, Morgan Rude, Casey Schadewitz, Brooke Schroeder, Anthony Taylor, Corey Thurman, Marissa Tyler, Dylan Wells, Joel Wiley, Kyle Wiley.Brush PrairieSamantha Berry, Jessica Boyd, Katherine Lee, Kyra Oja, Elizabeth Sparks.CamasAynur Altom, Christopher Bettis, Kyle Darland, Allyson Dunlap, Kristina Griffee, Danika Jones, Lauren Livick, Katie McDonald, Alison Owens, McKenna Paulsen, Hali Ramirez, Alisha Rich, Renee Valenter.La CenterJoseph Hantho, Michael Hantho, Corey Sizemore, Ashley Spaulding, Shelby Wilkerson.RidgefieldSeanna Irvin, Ashley Jhaveri.VancouverNicole Beyers, Montgomery Boldt, Tiffany Bowden, Leslie Davies, Hayley Dean, Brittany Ellingsen, Joni Gall, Paige Halle, Nichole Hatton, Jennifer Hawkins, Kandise Holcomb, Jessica Johns, Alex Johnson, Tyler Jollie, Kira Kallem, Kristina Kimbrell, Olivia Logan, Cristina Maggio, Aaron Mathisen, Joseph Matthews, Breanna Morris, Brittney Newell, N'Diya Pumphery, Richard Santa Ana, Tealagean Spring, Aaron Steinauer, Cory Stone, Kathleen Terpening, Elohino Theodore, Teresa Vermillion, Altair Winguth, Alyssa Weber, Lindsey White, Katherine Voakes.WashougalAmanda Acheson, Nikala Cann, Danae Lentz.WoodlandSamantha Curtis.

Submissions: Mail: P.O. Box 180, Vancouver, WA 98666; email:; or phone: 360-735-4524.

More Like This