Lawyer, B.G. senior win Marshall Awards

Attorney honored for service; student for leadership skills




Paige Spratt has won the 2016 General George C. Marshall Public Leadership Award, and Battle Ground High School senior Alena Jarvis has won the Youth Leadership Award.

The Fort Vancouver National Trust announced the winners in a ceremony Wednesday.

The dinner featured an address by Rob Havers, president of the General George C. Marshall Foundation.

Spratt is the 27th winner of the Public Leadership Award. An attorney and a mother, she volunteers throughout the community in a variety of organizations, according to a National Trust news release. In a letter of recommendation, John Vanderkin wrote: “I have had the pleasure of working with Paige and seeing her impact on the community at large. … Paige has demonstrated a very strong commitment to serve the (Southwest) Washington region and provides engaged and thoughtful leadership within the organizations she serves.”

Spratt will travel to Lexington, Va., to tour the Marshall Foundation, and to Colonial Williamsburg and Washington, D.C. She also will enhance her public leadership skills by participating in the nine-month Leadership Clark County Program. Spratt will engage in the National Trust’s Celebrate Freedom programs throughout the year, and will have opportunities to meet with local elected officials.

In nomination materials, Air Force Junior ROTC Senior Instructor Col. (retired) Brian Brown described Jarvis as their No. 1 cadet in the Battle Ground High School Air Force Junior ROTC program, consisting of more than 100 cadets. She was unanimously selected as corps commander for the fall 2015 semester because of her unsurpassed excellence in performance, leadership, academics and athletics, Brown said.

Jarvis will participate as an intern in the Celebrate Freedom programs office at the National Trust. She also receives a $2,500 college scholarship.