Wednesday, January 19, 2022
Jan. 19, 2022

Linkedin Pinterest

Djokovic, Federer seeded 1-2 for U.S. Open

The Columbian

NEW YORK — Top-ranked Novak Djokovic is seeded No. 1 for the U.S. Open, and five-time champion Roger Federer is No. 2, meaning they could meet only in the final.

Djokovic beat Federer for the title at Wimbledon last month.

The U.S. Tennis Association followed this week’s ATP rankings in announcing the seedings Tuesday.

Federer moved up one spot from his No. 3 ranking because 2013 champion Rafael Nadal withdrew from the year’s last Grand Slam tournament with an injured right wrist. The 33-year-old Federer is seeded at the U.S. Open for the 14th consecutive year, tied with Ivan Lendl for the longest streak, trailing only Jimmy Connors’ record of 18.

Federer won the hard-court tournament every year from 2004-08, part of his record 17 Grand Slam titles.

Djokovic has played in the last four finals at Flushing Meadows, winning the title in 2011. He lost to Nadal in 2010 and last year, and to Andy Murray in 2012.

Murray is seeded eighth this year. Australian Open champion Stan Wawrinka is No. 3, followed by David Ferrer, Milos Raonic, Tomas Berdych and Grigor Dimitrov.

The women’s seedings will be announced Wednesday, and the draw is Thursday.

The tournament starts Monday.


1, Novak Djokovic, Serbia

2, Roger Federer, Switzerland

3, Stanislas Wawrinka, Switzerland

4, David Ferrer, Spain

5, Milos Raonic, Canada

6, Tomas Berdych, Czech Republic

7, Grigor Dimitrov, Bulgaria

8, Andy Murray, Great Britain

9, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, France

10, Kei Nishikori, Japan

11, Ernests Gulbis, Latvia

12, Richard Gasquet, France

13, John Isner, United States

14, Marin Cilic, Croatia

15, Fabio Fognini, Italy

16, Tommy Robredo, Spain

17, Roberto Bautista Agut, Spain

18, Kevin Anderson, South Africa

19, Feliciano Lopez, Spain

20, Gael Monfils, France

21, Mikhail Youzhny, Russia

22,. Philipp Kohlschreiber, Germany

23, Leonardo Mayer, Argentina

24, Julien Benneteau, France

25, Ivo Karlovic, Croatia

26, Gilles Simon, France

27, Santiago Giraldo, Colombia

28, Guillermo Garcia-Lopez, Spain

29, Lukas Rosol, Czech Republic

30, Jeremy Chardy, France

31, Fernando Verdasco, Spain

32, Joao Sousa, Portugal