Wednesday, December 1, 2021
Dec. 1, 2021

Linkedin Pinterest

2A-1A cross country: Ridgefield boys and girls sweep 2A district titles

La Center girls capture 1A district crown

The Columbian

Lexi Rutherford won the girls race and Silas Griffith made a big surge to finish second in the boys as Ridgefield’s cross country teams swept the team titles at the 2A district meet at Lewis River Golf Course in Woodland.

Rutherford outdistanced Natalie Biddix of Woodland by seven seconds to win in 20 minutes, 13 seconds. Hailey Figueras placed fifth as Ridgefield edged Tumwater 80-83 for the team title.

Amelia Pullen was fourth to lead Washougal to third place with 87 points. The top three teams advanced to state next week.

Individuals advancing to state included Ellie Furth and Hanna Dyer of Columbia River, and Abby Orman, Adyson Dyer and Julia Zora of Hockinson.

In the boys race, Griffith languished in 16th place at one point in the race before surging to finish second just behind Evan Groat of Tumwater. Griffith finished in 16:23. Every position counted for Ridgefield as the Spudders tied Tumwater with 66 points. However, Ridgefield’s No. 6 runner, Ian Abrams, finished 19 seconds ahead of Tumwater’s No. 6 runner, giving the Spudders their second consecutive boys district title. Kyle Radosevich was seventh for Ridgefield.

Gabriel Dinnel was fifth and Aiden Pullen was eighth to lead Washougal to third place. The top three teams head to state.

Advancing to state as individuals were Kyle Peterson of Hockinson, and Columbia River’s Keegan Hanes, Christopher Arnold and Ben Laughlin.

1A district

Freshman Natasha Lewis easily raced to the individual title to lead La Center to the girls team title.

The Wildcats dominated with a score 27, easily outpacing Columbia-White Salmon. La Center had five runners in the top nine — Lewis (19:46), Bethany Whitten (fourth, 20:43), Roselynn Martin (sixth, 21:11), Sierra Harris (seventh, 21:18) and Emily Graham (ninth, 21:27).

Haley Blair was second (20:22) to help advance to state. Advancing to state as individuals were Seton Catholic’s Elena Carrion and Kennedy Lake, and Stevenson’s Kimberly Chestnut and Yuvia Marquez.

Nate Beed of La Center won the individual title in the boys race in 17:12. Columbia-White Salmon beat La Center for the title title 39-48. Both teams will advance to state. Will Nuckoles and Dylan Beneventi went third and fourth for Columbia. Calvin DuBois of La Center was fifth.

Also qualifying for state were Seton Catholic’s David Carrion and Stevenson’s Julio Ramos-Vasquez.