Wednesday, November 30, 2022
Nov. 30, 2022

Linkedin Pinterest

Students earn scholarships for community art projects

The Columbian

Washougal — The 2018 Arts Ambassador scholarship recipients were honored at the Enspire Arts Celebration Gala, held Oct. 13 at the Black Pearl. The newly established program offers $500 scholarships to students in grades 6-12 throughout Clark County. The scholarships can be used toward instruction in any art form. Each recipient will provide an arts-based community gift to serve residents. The honorees include Aaron Greene, a senior at Union High School who will create a Peer-to-Peer String Instruction Program to support the school’s orchestra, as well as provide free lessons to those who may not have access; Zoe Hill, a Jemtegaard Middle School eighth-grader who will create Reaching Others Through Art, a series of comic drawings highlighting the mental dialogue associated with certain mental conditions; Zayah Shore, a Liberty Middle School seventh-grader who, through her project Sharing the Love of Music, will visit elementary school classrooms to share what it’s like to learn a new instrument and encourage kids not to be a afraid of a challenge; Zachary Lipinski, a junior at Heritage High School who will use the grant for Connecting with Others Through Music, in which he will provide free public music performances around Clark County; and Cassidy Watson, a junior at Camas High School who’s project, called The Joy of Dance, will offer three contemporary dance workshops to youth around the county. The 2019 scholarship program opens in March, and more information can be found at

Support local journalism

Your tax-deductible donation to The Columbian’s Community Funded Journalism program will contribute to better local reporting on key issues, including homelessness, housing, transportation and the environment. Reporters will focus on narrative, investigative and data-driven storytelling.

Local journalism needs your help. It’s an essential part of a healthy community and a healthy democracy.

Community Funded Journalism logo