Sunday, February 28, 2021
Feb. 28, 2021

Linkedin Pinterest

Cast your vote for classic prep football game from 2010-to-present to revisit

Voting remains open through noon Monday.

By , Columbian Assistant Sports Editor

Late last month, The Columbian asked fans to submit which regular-season games they would like to see included as part of our Friday Night Flashback series.

In total, 34 regular-season games were offered up, dating back to 1937.

We’ve broken these games into three groups — 2010 to present, 2000 to 2009 and 1999 and earlier. Fans will be asked to vote for their favorite game among these to be added to our Friday Night Flashback.

We’ll be asking for postseason game nominations in October.

Here is the link to vote for best game pre-2000.

Here is the link to vote for best game 2000-2009.

Here are the nominees for games from 2010 to present for consideration.

2019: Camas 21, Skyview 17 — After Camas loses its starting quarterback and running back to injury, Skyview rallies within four and was threatening to take a lead in the fourth quarter, but a controversial fumble at the goal line ended that hope. Camas would go on to win the 4A state title.

2019: Kelso 29, Mountain View 28 — Josh Webb rushed for 358 yards but it was Mason Smith’s 28-yard field goal with 17 seconds left that gave the Hilanders the win.

2019: Evergreen 40, Mountain View 35 — The Plainsmen score the game’s final 20 points, including Tae Marks’ touchdown with 1:36 left to lift Evergreen to its first win over the Thunder since 2007.

2019: Mountain View 23, Prairie 22 — Freshman Kyle Chen makes a game-saving interception with 11 seconds left to give the Thunder a league victory.

2018: Union 17, Mountain View 14 — Christian Alcorn kicks a 29-yard field for Union with 2:34 left. The Thunder then drive to the Union 4 before a fumble ends their upset hopes. Union would go on to win the 4A state title. Mountain View was a 3A semifinalist.

2017: Union 14, Camas 13 — Jojo Siofele’s fourth-quarter touchdown rallies the No. 5 Titans from 13-0 deficit to beat No. 1 Camas, snapping the Papermakers 58-game winning streak in regular-season games.

2017: Mountain View 29, Kelso 23, OT — In overtime, Mitchell Delmage ends Kelso’s possession with an interception. One play later, Makai Anderson catches a 25-yard touchdown pass from Glen Perry for the win.

2016: Hockinson 14, Columbia River 13 — Matt Henry scores on a hook-and-ladder play with 20 seconds left for the winning touchdown in the mud at Hockinson.

2016: Columbia River 24, Evergreen 21, OT — The late Hunter Pearson runs for 200 yards and Kent Stricker kicks the game-winning field goal in OT for River.

2012: Heritage 12, Battle Ground 7 — The Timberwolves stop Kevin Haynes from inside the 1-yard line, twice — or did they? — to preserve a 4A GSHL victory.

2012: La Center 29, Woodland 21 — Woodland rallies from 29-7 down but the Wildcats seal win win recovered onside kick with 23 seconds to play to clinch the Trico League title and an unbeaten regular season.

2012: Kelso 49, Heritage 46 — A wild back-and-forth battle ends with Taylor Radcliffe’s interception in the end zone with 20 seconds left.

2011: Mountain View 34, Columbia River 28 — River led 21-20 at halftime when the lights went out at McKenzie Stadium and didn’t come back on. The game had to resumed the next day with Chav Camargo’s 52-yard interception return for TD helping the Thunder secure the win.