Sunday, December 5, 2021
Dec. 5, 2021

Linkedin Pinterest

Conde’s fourth-quarter touchdown lifts Evergreen over Kelso 28-21


Tejuan Conde scored two touchdowns, including the go-ahead score in the fourth quarter, as Evergreen beat Kelso 28-21 in a penalty-filled battled Friday at McKenzie Stadium.

Hunter Letter had a 35-yard touchdown pass to Jaden Kay and a 2-yard touchdown run as Kelso took a 14-0 lead in the fourth quarter.

But Evergreen’s JJ Woodin hit Jonathan Landry on a 70-yard touchdown pass play, plus a 12-yard TD pass to Conde in the second quarter as the Plainsmen even the score at 14-14.

But Letteer found Teagan Conners on a 12-yard touchdown pass right before halftime to put Kelso up 21-14.

Jaylen Fite’s 30-yard touchdown reception in the third quarter got Evergreen with 21-20.

Conde’s second touchdown reception early in the fourth gave Evergreen a 28-21 lead.

Landry came up with an interception later in the fourth to help the Plainsmen seal the win.

The Plainsmen struggled with penalties, having more 100 penalty yards which nullified a touchdown and an interception.

But the Hilanders also struggled with penalties as they suffered two ejections – a player as well as head coach Steve Amrine.


Kelso 14 7 0 0–21

Evergreen 0 14 6 7–28

First Quarter

K – Jaden Kay 35 pass from Hunter Letteer (Mason Smith kick)

K – Letteer 2 run (Smith kick)

Second Quarter

E – Jonathan Landry 70 pass from JJ Woodin (Ely Del Angel kick)

E – Tejuan Conde 12 pass from Woodin (Del Angel kick)

K – Tegan Connors 12 pass from Letteer (Smith kick)

Third Quarter

E – Jaylen Fite 30 pass from Woodin (kick failed)

Fourth Quarter

E – Conde 25 pass from Woodin (Landry run)

Individual Statistics

RUSHING – Kelso: Connor Noah 19-97, Hunter Letteer 16-32, Judah Calixte 2-9, Colby Cooper 1-8, Kyle Spaulding 1-2; Evergreen: JJ Woodin 5-25, Kyle Norton 12-57, O’Shay Jackson 9-44, Jonathan Landry 4-13

PASSING – Kelso: Hunter Letteer 9-19-2-96; Evergreen: JJ Woodin 15-26-1-210.

RECEIVING – Kelso: Jaden Kay 1-35, Conner Noah 1-10, Tegan Connors 2-22, Ethan Moyer 1-5, Colby Cooper 4-24; Evergreen: Jaylen Fite 8-68, Jonathan Landry 2-82, TeJuan Conde 4-29, Jonathan Simon 1-11.