Saturday, January 28, 2023
Jan. 28, 2023

Linkedin Pinterest

Emma Swett of Woodland named Gatorade state volleyball player of the year

University of Portland signee was 2A GSHL player of the year

By , Columbian Assistant Sports Editor

Woodland senior Emma Swett became the first player from Southwest Washingto to be selected as the Gatorade state volleyball player of the year, Gatorade announced Thursday.

Gatorade has been selecting a state player of the year for volleyball since the 1995-96 school year.

Swett, a 6-foot-1 outside hitter and setter, compiled 159 kills and 118 digs this season, leading the Beavers (9-4) to a Class 2A District 4 runner-up finish. The 2A Greater St. Helens League player of the year also recorded 77 assists, 22 aces and 16 blocks.

“Emma is a terminating hitter with an excellent volleyball IQ who can literally do it all,” Woodland coach Danielle Hutton said. “Her athletic abilities give her the option to play any position across the net and be successful.”

Swett finished her high school career with 771 kills, 584 assists and 572 digs. She has signed a letter of intent to play volleyball at the University of Portland.

The Gatorade honor acknowledges not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high academic achievement and outstanding character.

Swett, who has maintained at 3.86 GPA, is a member of the Woodland High School student council. She has volunteered as part of multiple initiatives to benefit others and has donated her time as a youth volleyball coach.

Swett now becomes a finalist for national player-of-the-year honors, which will be announced later this month.

Past Gatorade Washington volleyball players of the year

  • 2019-20: Chey Jones, Tahoma
  • 2018-19: Shea Rubright, West Valley-Yakima
  • 2017-18: Calley Heilborn, Auburn Riverside
  • 2016-17: Kennedy Croft, Tumwater
  • 2015-16: Shayne McPherson, Kennedy Catholic
  • 2014-15: Carson Heilbron, Auburn Riverside
  • 2013-14: Courtney Schwan, Bellarmine Prep
  • 2012-13: Courtney Schwan, Bellarmine Prep
  • 2011-12: Katlyn Mataya, Burlington-Edison
  • 2010-11: Rachel Roeder, Issaquah
  • 2009-10: Alexis Olgard, Mead
  • 2008-09: Kylin Munoz, Monroe
  • 2007-08: Brittany Quick, Hanford
  • 2006-07: Allyson Powell, Selah
  • 2005-06: Kylie Marshall, Emerald Ridge
  • 2004-05: Jill Collymore, Bush
  • 2003-04: Christal Morrison, Puyallup
  • 2002-03: Stevie Mussie, Puyallup
  • 2001-02: Jennifer Barcus, Lakeside-Nine Mile Falls
  • 2000-01: Jennifer Barcus, Lakeside-Nine Mile Falls
  • 1999-2000: Diane Halvarson, Lake Washington
  • 1998-99: Michelle Etter, Shadle Park
  • 1997-98: Marisa Blackshire, Ferris
  • 1996-97: Jessica Sanborn, Mead
  • 1995-96: Brandy Barratt, Gonzaga Prep