Sunday, August 14, 2022
Aug. 14, 2022

Linkedin Pinterest

McEnerny-Ogle wins Vancouver mayor’s race as voters reject body cameras, back Battle Ground levy

All proposed charter amendments approved but one; county elected offices will become nonpartisan

By , Columbian Metro Editor

Vancouver Mayor Anne McEnerny-Ogle fended off a challenge from former Republican Party chair Earl Bowerman in Tuesday’s election as voters rejected a sales tax hike that would ultimately fund body cameras for sheriff’s deputies and approved a replacement levy for Battle Ground schools.

McEnerny-Ogle received 67.48 percent of the vote to Bowerman’s 32.52 percent in the first round of results released Tuesday evening. Turnout as of Tuesday was at 18.38 percent, lower than expected even for an off-year election.

Voters rejected Clark County Proposition 10, which would create a 0.1 percent sales and use tax for juvenile detention facilities and jails, which would free up money for a program to supply dash and body cameras for the Clark County Sheriff’s Office. The measure failed with only 44.07 percent of the vote.

Clark County voters weighed in on nine proposed amendments to the Clark County Home Rule Charter on Tuesday’s ballot. They approved all of the proposals but one that would create a Clark County Department of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion.

Voters in the Battle Ground school district approved an replacement levy supporting educational programs and operations, at a cost of $1.99 per $1,000 of assessed value, less than the $2.32 per $1,000 currently being paid. It was the second attempt to pass a replacement levy; voters rejected an earlier try in February. It was passing Tuesday, 52.28 to 47.72 percent.

In city races:

Vancouver City Council: John Blom was leading Kim D. Harless, 51.25 to 48.75 percent; Erik Paulsen defeated Kara Tess, 79.9 to 20.1 percent; Diana H. Perez defeated David Gellatly, 60.23 to 39.77 percent.

Battle Ground City Council: Troy McCoy led Brian D. Munson, 55.07 to 44.93 percent; Adrian E. Cortes defeated Josh VanGelder, 60 to 40 percent; Tricia Davis was leading Neil Butler 53.49 46.51 percent; and Cherish DesRochers defeated Josie Calderon 63.89 to 36.11 percent.

Camas Mayor: Steven Hogan was leading Jennifer Senescu, 56.77 to 43.23 percent.

Camas City Council: Marilyn Dale-Boerke led Gary Perman, 50.8 to 49.2 percent; Tim Hein defeated Martin Elzingre, 60.75 to 39.25 percent; and Leslie Lewallen led Jennifer McDaniel, 52.76 to 47.24 percent.

La Center City Council: Melissa Fox defeated Justin Keeler, 61.65 to 38.35 percent; KC Kasberg defeated Dennis Hill, 61 to 39 percent; and Sean Boyle defeated T.R. “Randy” Williams, 62.6 to 37.40 percent.

Ridgefield City Council: Jennifer Lindsay defeated Ken Spurlock, 75.61 to 24.39 percent.

Washougal Mayor: Rochelle Ramos defeated the deceased Derik Ford, 86.63 to 13.37 percent.

Washougal City Council: Molly Coston led Chris le la Rocha, 58.92 to 41.08 percent

Yacolt Town Council: Joshua Beck defeated Ronald Homola, 60.19 to 39.81 percent.

In schools races:

Battle Ground Public Schools Board of Directors: Mary Snitily led Chloe Seppala, 56.85 to 43.15 percent; Ted Champine defeated Diane Langan, 79.85 to 20.15 percent; Jackie Maddux led Jenny Price, 53.60 to 46.40 percent.

Camas Public Schools Board of Directors: Corey McEnry led Ernie Geigenmiller, 59.24 to 40.76 percent; and Erika Cox defeated Jeremiah Chevrolet Stephen, 62.07 to 37.93 percent.

Evergreen Public Schools Board of Directors: Julie Bocanegra defeated Mike Appel, 60.52 to 39.48 percent; Ginny Gronwoldt defeated Amanda Breck, 62.29 to 37.71 percent.

Hockinson School District Board of Directors: Teresa VanNatta led Tim Hawkins, 55.90 to 44.10 percent.

Ridgefield School District Board of Directors: Zenia Bringhurst defeated Chantel Nash, 64.15 to 35.85 percent.

Vancouver Public Schools Board of Directors: Sandra Zavala-Ortega led Michelle Belkot, 55.94 to 44.06 percent; and Wendy Smith defeated Jorge Bailey, 62.09 to 37.91 percent.

Washougal School District Board of Directors: Donna L. Sinclair led Sadie McKenzie, 50.13 to 49.87 percent; Chuck Carpenter led Janice D’Aloia, 51.81 to 48.19 percent.

Clark County Home Rule Charter Propositions:

Proposition 1 (making executive elected offices nonpartisan): Approved, 68.63 to 31.37 percent.

Proposition 2: (making county council positions nonpartisan): Approved, 67.24 to 32.76 percent.

Proposition 3: (expanding from four to five county council districts): Approved, 73.20 to 26.80 percent.

Proposition 4: (changing charter review frequency, member terms): Approved, 64.17 to 35.83 percent.

Proposition 5: (requiring ethics code and review process): Approved, 69.19 to 30.81 percent.

Proposition 6: (creating Department of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion): Rejected, 44.21 to 55.79 percent.

Proposition 7: (minor corrections, clarifications): Approved, 72.05 to 27.95 percent.

Proposition 8: (clarifying procedures for mini-initiative, refernda): Approved, 79.22 to 20.78 percent.

Proposition 9: (only allowing voters in unincoporated county to vote on initiatives, mini-initiatives and referenda on ordinances applying only to unincorporated areas): Approved, 71.92 to 28.08 percent.

In other races:

Vancouver Port District Commissioner: Eric LaBrant defeated Greg Seifert, 63.19 to 36.81 percent.

Ridgfield Transportation Benefit District 0.2 percent sales tax: Approved, 59.28 to 40.72 percent.

Clark-Cowlitz Fire Rescue Commissioner: Ken Ayers led Mike Lohmans, 57.7 to 42.3 percent.

Clark County Fire District 3 Commissioner: Scott S. Anders led Philip L. Johnson, 69.34 to 30.66 percent.

Clark County Fire District 5 Commissioner: Ron Gibson defeated Michelle Nicole Davis, 80.9 to 19.1 percent.

Clark County Fire District 6 Commissioner: Rocky L. Hanes led Casey M. Collins, 54 to 46 percent.

Clark Regional Wastewater District Commissioner: Norman Harker defeated Bruce Campbell, 61.42 to 38.58 percent.

Camas-Washougal Port District Commissioner: Larry Keister led Jeramy Wilcox, 58.63 to 41.37 percent.

The next results will be released at 4 p.m. Wednesday.

Support local journalism

Your tax-deductible donation to The Columbian’s Community Funded Journalism program will contribute to better local reporting on key issues, including homelessness, housing, transportation and the environment. Reporters will focus on narrative, investigative and data-driven storytelling.

Local journalism needs your help. It’s an essential part of a healthy community and a healthy democracy.

Community Funded Journalism logo