South Korea to host Presidents Cup in 2015



MELBOURNE, Australia (AP) — South Korea will become the first Asian country to host the Presidents Cup in 2015.

U.S. PGA Tour commissioner Tim Finchem said Wednesday at this year’s event that an as-yet undecided Korean club will host the biennial tournament between the United States and an International team of golfers representing non-European countries.

Finchem said the PGA Tour has “a number of options” for a host club but will not announce the specific venue until the first half of next year. Three South Korean players are on this year’s Presidents Cup team: K.J. Choi, K. T. Kim and Y.E. Yang.

Under the rotation system, the U.S. will host the 2013 Presidents Cup at Muirfield Village in Dublin, Ohio.