Interior names members of Indian trust commission



FLAGSTAFF, Ariz. (AP) — Five people have been named to a commission to evaluate the Department of Interior’s management of $3.7 billion in American Indian trust funds.

Interior Secretary Ken Salazar announced the members Wednesday, two days ahead of a meeting between President Barack Obama and tribal leaders.

Fawn Sharp, president of the Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians and the Quinault Indian Nation, will serve as chairwoman. Other members are: former Navajo President Peterson Zah; Stacy Leeds, of the Cherokee Nation; Bob Anderson, of the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe and Tex Hall, past president of the National Congress of American Indians.

They are to provide recommendations on improving trust fund management within two years.

The commission’s formation came after a judge approved a $3.4 billion U.S. government settlement over mismanaged American Indian land royalties.