Soni, Shanteau, Clary win swim titles



MISSION VIEJO, Calif. (AP) — Olympic silver medalist Rebecca Soni won the 100-meter breaststroke by 2.14 seconds and Olympian Eric Shanteau took the men’s race, while Tyler Clary won his third title Sunday on the final day of the Fran Crippen Memorial Swim Meet of Champions.

Soni won in 1 minute, 7.43 seconds, adding the 100 title to the 200 breaststroke she won a night earlier at the tuneup meet for the U.S. Olympic trials in June. Rival Jessica Hardy qualified for the final, but scratched after swimming a preliminary time of 1:07.93. Hardy also made the 100 butterfly final, but scratched that too, concluding a busy meet in which she won the 50 and 100 freestyles and was second in the 200 free.

Shanteau won the men’s 100 breast in 1:01.47, completing a sweep of the breaststroke events. Mike Alexandrov was second at 1:01.84. Ed Moses, silver medalist in the 100 at the 2000 Sydney Olympics, finished last in the eight-man field at 1:04.68. It was slower than his preliminary time as the 31-year-old swimmer attempts a comeback for the London Games.

Clary won the 200 individual medley in 2:00.20 to go with his earlier wins in the 200 fly and 200 backstroke, along with a second in the 200 free.

Chloe Sutton won the 1,500 free in 16:35.38 to go with her earlier title in the 800 free. Chad La Tourette claimed the men’s 1,500 free in 7:59.31, having won the 800 free earlier.