Fla. Gulf Coast women rout Stetson 67-39 in A-Sun



MACON, Ga. (AP) — Sarah Hansen scored 16 points, hitting four 3-pointers, as top-seeded Florida Gulf Coast routed Stetson 67-39 to win its first Atlantic Sun Conference tournament championship on Saturday, capping an undefeated run through league play.

Courtney Chihil added 15 points to push her career total over 1,000 points for the Eagles, who clinched their first NCAA tournament berth in their first year of eligibility.

The Eagles (29-2) followed an 18-0 regular-season conference slate with three tournament wins, joining the 1993 Florida International squad as the only teams to stay unbeaten through the regular season and tournament.

The 29 wins tied FIU’s 1997-98 total for the most ever by an A-Sun team.

Victoria McGowan, the 2012 A-Sun Player of the Year, scored 17 to lead the second-seeded Hatters.

Florida Gulf Coast, which leads the nation in 3-pointers (10.8 per game) hit 11 of 28, compared to just 2 of 18 for Stetson.