Clark County Special Olympic bowlers win gold medals

Regional tournament held at Crosley Lanes



Sixty-five Special Olympics athletes from Clark County earned gold medals during the Special Olympics Washington Southwest Regional Bowling Tournament. The tournament drew almost 400 bowlers to Allen’s Crosley Lanes in Vancouver.

The competition included athletes with intellectual disabilities and unified partners without intellectual disabilities.

Clark County was represented by two teams: the Clark County High Rollers coached by Elizabeth Francis, Rick Cook and Jason Gallagher, and the Vancouver Dolphins coached by Myrna Brown.

In addition to bowlers from Clark County, participating teams included East Lewis County, Grays Harbor Panthers, Grays Harbor Hawks, Lewis County, and the Longview-Kelso Alley Cats.

Two female and two male athletes will be selected to represent Special Olympics Washington in the bowling competitions at the 2014 Special Olympics Nationals in New Jersey. All gold medal winners from this regional can apply to be selected to represent Washington.

Members of the High Rollers who won gold medals were: Rachel Akins, Nicole Banks, Jason Baumgartner, Chelsea Baxter, John (JB) Becker, Jennifer Benford, Joseph Bernabe, Jason Bernt, Patrick Blue, Lane Bohn, Kevin Bonacorsi, Meridian Bosner, Bryan Brinkman, Erin Casey, Tina Colantuono, Maria Collazo, David Cralley, Carl Crosiar, Mariah Davis, Heather Doenecke, Dennis Jr. Dole, Alexis Dowgiallo, Jason Downey, Krista Downey, Kenda Eaton, Nathan Ellis, Jordan Fallon, William Ferguson IV, Ellen Hardy, Thomas Higgens, Anthony Hopkins, Andrew Hopper-Jester, Becky Johnson, Amaris Koutselas, Mike Krecklow, Dusty Lang, Kyle Mabry, Mandy Malik, Melody Malik, Elijah Malik-Byers, Taylor Malik-Byers, Doug McPherson, Ashley Medlock, John Phillips, Kennedy Robert, Aaron Sager, Mark Samples, Deanna Sanders, Kat Sanders, Mark N. Sanders, Angelina Schubothe, Donielle Sellers, Tom Shannon, Everett Smith, Ivan Soltero, Samantha Spencer, Colby Stanbridge, Sean Starr, Andrew Stekhuizen, Michael Vanoni, Cheryl Williams, Shelby Young and CJ Zemp.

Members of the Vancouver Dolphins earning gold medals were Rene Graham and Rhonda McCafferty.

High Rollers’ silver-medal winners were: Michael Abe, Michael Anselm, Diana Bartusek, Eli Bernabe, Kathleen Borden, Jordan Brown, Melinda Carlyle, Thomas Chidwick, Jerrod Crowson, Talin Elliott, Calvin Ertler, Ryan Fenn, Connor Finerty, Cole Gaddis, McKenna Gaddis, Kristopher Gatlin, Talon GeBorde, Shawn Hassig, Mary Hendricks, Dennis Huck, Jeremy Huck, Kelly Jeans, Scott Katka, Michael Koutselas, Susan Kunkel, Gerald Lamb, Sarah Lasco, Santos Lopez, Tori Lyster, Greg Martino, Larry Mathews, Morgan McBeath, Lauren Milam, Lea Mulligan, Andy Poukkula, Grant Richard, Cory Robak, Estaven Rosales, Emily Rowe, Charles Rymer, Robert Schmitz, Lynnadelle Schoeneberg, Bill Sheadel, Scott Shivvers, Eric Stage, Lori Steed, Hannah Wampach, Greg Werner and Fiona Wimber.

Silver medalists for the Dolphins were Don Brigham and Laurie Featherly.

Bronze medal winners for the High Rollers were: Alex Ables, Lisa Benson, Aaron Bernabe, Fred Berthold Jr., Jacob Blunt, Jolene Brown, Adam Calkin, Karen Carrico, Jonathon Chidester, Anthony Coehlo, Rosa Coehlo, Bryan Cook, Holly Cook, Michael Cook, Vicki Cook, William Cuff, Joseph Dawson, Lynn Ermshar, Craig Francis, Ron Gebbie, Norman Hall, Mark Hart, Kay Heilbronner, Russ Jones, Paul Kotz, Alyssa Kwak, Jacob Lattonzi, Harlin Laycock Jr., Ariel Laycock, Destiny Laycock, Paris Laycock, Peter Li, Preston Manor, Steve Moulton, Katie Murray, Jimmy Nguyen, Alyson Rowe, Michael Torres, Mark Trenda, John Veals, Olivia Wade, Rachel Deeann Williamson, Tabitha Williamson, Jackie Winters and Timothy Younger.

Jeffrey Scott won a bronze medal for the Dolphins.

High Rollers earning fourth-place ribbons were: Wesley Altig, Danny Baragary, Ashley Cecil, Tim Cook, Justin Dalton, Sean Dinsmore, Casey Ellison, Tim Hammrich, Larry Joslin, Michael E. Lamb, Heidi Moss, Tina Murphy, Jason Tevlin and Richard Wilen.

David Brown of the Dolphis won a fourth-place ribbon, and Kenya Coulter of the High Rollers earned a participation ribbon.

Up next:

Basketball is the next sport on the Clark County Special Olympics calendar. Anyone interested in playing, coaching or volunteering for the program is invited to the preseason meeting 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. on Nov. 23 at Pied Piper Pizza, 12400 Fourth Plain Rd.

To learn more about basketball or other Clark County Special Olympics programs, contact Rick Cook by e-mail at