Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Dec. 11, 2019

Linkedin Pinterest

2016 Iris Awards will go to Garrett, McEnerny-Ogle

Two Clark County women have long, rich histories helping Southwest Washington community members

By , Columbian staff writer
Published: February 14, 2016, 5:55am
2 Photos
Katherine Garrett
Katherine Garrett Photo Gallery

Two Clark County women known for their deep involvement in the community have been announced as winners of the 2016 Iris Awards: Anne McEnerny-Ogle and Katherine Garrett. The Iris Awards, honoring women in Southwest Washington who exhibit leadership and serve their communities, will be given at 6 p.m. March 9 at Clark College.

McEnerny-Ogle is a member of the Vancouver City Council. She previously spent 30 years as an educator, where she received the Milken Foundation Educator Award and was chosen as Oregon Math Teacher of the Year. In addition to her time spent on the Vancouver City Council, McEnerny-Ogle also serves on the C-Tran Board of Directors, is a member of the Regional Transportation Council Board of Directors, and the vice-chair of the Clark County Historical Museum. Anne is also the chair for the Fort Vancouver District for the Boy Scouts of America. Additionally, she is involved in local politics, working with the League of Women Voters, and serves on the Community Military Appreciation Committee.

Garrett has spent the last 14 years working with Share, a Vancouver nonprofit serving the homeless. She spent the last nine years leading the Share House and Outreach programs.

Recently, Garrett became the Housing First Program Director at Lincoln Place for chronically homeless individuals. Garrett has been a passionate advocate for the homeless community and works with the Safety Committee of Vancouver’s Downtown Association to resolve issues between local businesses and the homeless, and helps inform city leaders on policy decisions regarding the homeless population of Southwest Washington.

For the first time, a third award will be presented as part of the Iris Awards: The Legacy Award honors a past Iris Award or Women of Achievement winner who continues to exhibit leadership and inspire her community. The Legacy Award winner has yet to be announced.

The Iris Awards are supported by Clark College, the Clark College Foundation, Greater Vancouver Chamber of Commerce and the Vancouver Business Journal.

The Iris Award winners will be featured in the 2016 “Women in Business” directory. Last year’s winners were Lisa Schauer, Lori Pulliam, and Victoria Bradford.

Tickets to the award ceremony are on sale through the Greater Vancouver Chamber of Commerce:

The cost is $35 per person; a table sponsorship, which includes six tickets, can be purchased for $250.