Wednesday, July 15, 2020
July 15, 2020

Linkedin Pinterest

Spotlight on youth

The Columbian

AAUW Certificates of Excellence

The Vancouver Branch of American Association of University Women awarded Certificates of Excellence to 25 Vancouver area high school girls for excellence in math, science and technology. The 2019 honorees are:

Columbia River High School: Arianna Bollent for math, Abby Kinney for science, and Erin Marble for technology.

Evergreen High School: Krishna Mojica-Zavala for math, Katelyn Kessinger for science, Megan L. Weaver for technology.

Fort Vancouver High School: Janna Ingalla for math, Alma Melchor Burgos for science.

HeLa High School: Erin Parr for science, Elina Kuwata for technology.

Heritage High School: Avneet Dhaliwal for math, Kennedy Guettich for science, Kayla Phommahasay for technology.

Hudson’s Bay High School: Trinity Reeves for math, Maya A. Cooney for science, Sofia Pelkey for technology.

Mountain View High School: Shrisha Menon for technology.

Skyview High School: Kaitlyn Lindblom for science, Natalie Humber for technology.

Union High School: Ramya Arivaz Hagan for math, Tess Majerus for science, Paige Munsey for technology.

Vancouver iTech Preparatory: Mailei Brodniak for math, Maria Ivchenko for science, Camryn Goldsmith for technology.

Clark County Presidential Scholars

Two Clark County students were recognized in the 55th class of U.S. Presidential Scholars by U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos.

Monica Yang Chang of Camas High School and Phillip Meng of Union High School were selected out of 5,200 candidates for their outstanding academic accomplishments. The 2019 ceremony will be held June 23, when each honoree will receive a Presidential Scholar Medallion.