Battle Ground’s Faley wins state bowling title

Tigers lead team standings after Day 1 at state

By Tim Martinez, Columbian Assistant Sports Editor



For the third time in six years, Clark County can boast of having the best high school girls bowler in the state.

Battle Ground’s Wylicia Faley became the third county bowler and the second from Battle Ground to win the Class 4A individual state championship, bowling a six-game series of 1236 — a 206 average — Friday at Narrows Plaza Bowl in University Place.

Rachel Kreighbaum of Battle Ground won the 4A title in 2007, and Evergreen’s Ashli Mortensen captured the 4A crown in 2009.

It was a great day for local bowlers as the 4A runner-up was also from Clark County — Heritage’s Amanda Van Meter. Van Meter bowled a six-game series of 1170 (195 average).

Union’s Parker Bonife placed fifth at 1128 and Evergreen’s Morgan Taylor was ninth at 1077.

Faley had a high game of the day of 227, while Van Meter topped out with a 266 game in her third game.

In fact, Van Meter was in the overall lead after five games, leading Faley 1032-1012.

But Faley finished strong with a 224 game, while Van Meter suffered her worst game of the day with a 138.

Behind Faley’s championship effort, Battle Ground leads the 4A team standings after Day 1. The Tigers have a pin total of 5172, more than 100 pins better than second-place Emerald Ridge of Puyallup (5057).

Evergreen is in fifth place at 4699. The team championship will be decided Saturday with a series of baker games.

In Class 3A/2A, Prairie’s Tessa Friason was the top Clark County finisher, placing sixth at 1172. Friason had a best game of 223 on the day and finished just four pins short of placing fifth.

Last week’s 3A/2A district champion Alex Lanning of Mountain View finished 22nd at 1017.

Kennewick’s Karissa Shiflet was the state champion at 1209. Mark Morris’s Brittany Yoke was second and teammate Brittany Schlauch was third, with both bowlers rolling 1204.

Mark Morris leads the team standings at 5488 over Wilson of Tacoma (5094).

Last year, Prairie won the 3A team title. Prairie’s Katryn Comeau was the 3A state individual runner-up in 2010.

Don't Do Stupid Stuff Mugs