Tuesday, November 29, 2022
Nov. 29, 2022

Linkedin Pinterest

Ford scores 3 TDs as Prairie tops Battle Ground 42-14


BATTLE GROUND — Prairie running back Alex Ford ran for 143 yards and three touchdowns as the Falcons (3-0) sprinted away from crosstown rival Battle Ground (1-2) in the second half, winning 42-14 in a non-league game on Friday night at District Stadium.

The Falcons notched quick scores at the beginning of each half, Ford rushing for his first touchdown four plays into the game.

After forcing a fumble on the first play of the third quarter, Prairie receiver Aidan Miller hauled in a diving grab in the end zone to extend the lead to 27-7 four plays into the second half.

Miller also collected two interceptions in the second half to lead a Prairie defense that forced five turnovers, including four interceptions.

Battle Ground quarterback Kameron Spencer ran for 59 yards and threw for 215 in the loss. Saveliy Tkachenko caught three passes for 31 yards and touchdown and had an interception on defense.

Braeden Slamp led the Falcons with 210 yards in the air and three touchdown passes.


Prairie 14 7 6 15—42

Battle Ground 7 0 0 7—14

First Quarter

P — Alex Ford 15 run (Ashton Fergason kick)

BG — Noah Currie 35 pass from Kameron Spencer (Bryland Fick kick)

P — Jose Lopez 90 pass from Braeden Slamp (Fergason kick)

Second Quarter

P — Ford 4 run (Fergason kick)

Third Quarter

P — Aidan Miller 34 pass from Slamp (kick blocked)

Fourth Quarter

P — Ford 41 run (Alex Juhl pass from Slamp)

BG — Saveliy Tkachenko 25 pass from Spencer (Fick kick)

P — Colby Majewski 40 pass from Slamp (Fergason kick)


RUSHING — Battle Ground, Kameron Spencer 21-59, Leithan Reynolds 9-13, Angel Lopez 3-10. Prairie, Alex Ford 20-143, Ernesto Espinosa 3-11, Braeden Slamp 5-(minus 10), Pierson Lameh 2-(minus 1).

PASSING — Battle Ground, Kameron Spencer 16-34-4-215. Prairie, Braeden Slamp 7-14-2-210.

RECEIVING — Battle Ground, Grayson Gambee 5-64, Noah Currie 3-48, Artem Bahnyuk 2-45, Saveliy Tkachenko 3-31, Michael Kennedy 1-16, Reid Davis 1-7, Angel Lopez 1-4. Prairie, Jose Lopez 1-90, Ethan Cabral 2-46, Colby Majewski 2-40, Aidan Miller 1-34, Alex Juhl 1-0.

Support local journalism

Your tax-deductible donation to The Columbian’s Community Funded Journalism program will contribute to better local reporting on key issues, including homelessness, housing, transportation and the environment. Reporters will focus on narrative, investigative and data-driven storytelling.

Local journalism needs your help. It’s an essential part of a healthy community and a healthy democracy.

Community Funded Journalism logo